Main Content

Carroll County

Carroll County is included in the Baltimore-Columbia-Towson, MD Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Washington-Baltimore-Arlington, DC-MD-VA-WV-PA Combined Statistical Area. While predominantly rural, the county has become increasingly suburban in recent years. Carroll County is bordered on the north by the Mason-Dixon Line. The Patapsco River forms the southern border and Liberty Reservoir forms part of the eastern border. Carroll County is bordered on the west by the Monocacy River and Sam’s Creek. Carroll has 8 incorporated municipalities: Taneytown, Hampstead, Manchester, Mount Airy, New Windsor, Sykesville, Union Bridge, and Westminster, which is the County Seat. Carroll County is located within the Baltimore Metropolitan Area, which is the nation’s 20th largest market, with over 2.6 million people. Located in the heart of the Mid-Atlantic on the east coast, the Baltimore Metropolitan Area also includes Baltimore City, Anne Arundel County, Baltimore County, Harford County, Howard County, and Queen Anne’s County.

Learn More

Carroll County is home to:

  • Old Town Sykesville
  • McDaniel College
  • Carroll County Farm Museum
  • Several Parks
  • Wine Trails

Sorry we are experiencing system issues. Please try again.
Skip to content